All three standards – 508, ADA, and WCAG
Salesforce UI

How To Handle Web Accessibility Standards In Salesforce

Salesforce UI Accessibility will be based on these three standards – 508, ADA, and WCAG – have the same goal: to make electronic and information technology accessible to people with disabilities (e.g., color blindness, vision disabilities, hearing disabilities) in a way that is comparable to the access available to others.  It’s common for the below sector.

  • Local governments
  • State governments
  • Nonprofits
  • Businesses

What is UI Accessibility?

Web accessibility consist set of protocol for removing barriers to accessing websites and web apps. We need to make every single thing accessible to every single person with a disability. Let’s some important guidance, why we are doing that, and examples.

Web Accessibility Guidelines

Here listed four important pieces of guidance that need to be considered during the salesforce development.

Perceivable: Users must receive information and user interface components in ways that they can perceive, such as providing text alternatives for graphical and other content with no text. 

Ex for perceivable: Semantics, Alt, AV translate, Labels, Caption, Spacing

Operable: User interface components and navigation must be operable. An example is making all functionality available from a keyboard. 

Ex for operable: Keyboard operations, Meaningful links, Media controls.

Understandable: The information on the user interface must be understandable. The user should be able to figure out how to use the interface easily; think ease of setting the language, a clear focus element on each page, and navigation consistency.  

Ex for understandable: Doctype, Navigation, Breadcrumbs, Validation.

Robust: Content must be robust enough, so a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technology, can interpret it. Ex: Valid HTML, use name role and all 

WCAG Compliance Levels and Checklist

Under the POUR principles, there are 78 guidelines developers should follow to ensure their content is accessible. There are three test criteria compliance levels: A, AA, and AAA.

  • Level A:  A site that some users can access.
  • Level AA: A site that almost all users can access.
  • Level AAA: A site that all users can access.

Salesforce & SLDS

Salesforce will cover most of the accessibility guidelines. We no need to worry about that. It also comes with WCAG guidelines, you can access all color ratios and semantic arrangements on the SLDS website. Sometimes you need to do more customization based on client requirements that time you need to make all the changes based on WCAG guidelines.

SLDS Accessibility

Salesforce Community Accessibility Best Practice

  • Proper Contrast Ratio
  • Label Forms Clearly
  • Provide Feedback for Errors
  • No Mouse, No Problem
  • Consistent Navigation
  • Simple Headings and Spacing
  • Design for Various Devices, Views, and Screens
  • Offer Alternatives for Consuming Media
  • Give Users Control

Leave A Comment